The Data Economy Finvest Global Awards 2020 will be announced on the 13th of February

The second edition of the Finvest Awards follows on from the premier of the accolades at Datacloud Global Congress 2019 in Monaco. For 2020, Finvest is expanding the number of categories to truly recognise the many talented people and businesses worldwide.

Awards Calendar

  • August 1 – Nominations open
  • December 13 – Nominations close
  • December 20 – Shortlist announced
  • February 13 – Awards Ceremony

General Nominations Criteria

The nominated company or individual should provide demonstrable evidence of outstanding impact in providing services, achieving excellence in services, professional service excellence, business improvement and innovation or leading financial achievements in the data centre, cloud, or Edge space over the past year.

Specific Criteria for Nominations:

Please state in each nomination –

  • Demonstrable evidence of success or achievement relative to the Award category
  • How the company or individual has contributed to outstanding innovation or world class services in the Award category
  • How the company or individual has created excellence in the Award category

*Each nomination is limited to a total of 600 words.
*Where appropriate, for each nomination, please advise the name (s) of the Advisory Business and / or Bank involved.

Awards Categories & Criteria

Hyperscale Investment of the Year Award


Recognising a transformational deal within the hyperscaler space, the winner will be a hyperscale data centre operator that has clearly demonstrated a solid achievement in securing an important investment to expand its portfolio. Joint entries are open in this category to hyperscaler operators and their investors.

Law Firm of the Year Award


Demonstrable evidence of outstanding impact in providing legal services to data centre, cloud, or edge companies over the past year through professional excellence and or business improvement.

Real Estate Deal of the Year Award


Provide evidence of outstanding achievement in delivering real estate deals for data centre, cloud or edge companies over the past year. Nominations are welcome from commercial real estate firms, private equity funds, investment management companies, and real estate investment trusts and their advisors.

Edge Investment Award


Demonstrate singular success in any Edge investment over the past year. Provide evidence of overall financial value of the investment made, explain why the investment is viable and how its success will be evaluated in future.

M&A of the year Award


The winner in this category will be awarded to the outstanding merger and acquisition anywhere globally over the last 12 months in data centre, cloud or Edge with the deal being evaluated based on size, complexity and market impact. Judges will consider factors including, but not limited to value, businesses involved, strategies and challenges, relevant competition and market impact and potential.

CFO of the Year Award


Recognising the financial leadership amongst the boards of data centre and cloud companies, the award will recognise an individual who has demonstrated prowess in developing new strategies for the operators as well as outstanding achievement in terms of portfolio growth.

Global Financial Leader Award


This award recognises an individual for his/her outstanding approach across core investment and financing processes within the data centre, cloud and/or edge sectors. This includes, but it’s not limited to, integrated sustainability into the business’ core investment/lending principles, policies and/or strategy.

Woman in Finance and Investment of the Year Award


The accolade honours the singular achievement of a female member of the sector within the finance and / or investment space over the past 12 months

Data Economy Personality of the Year in the Global Finance and Investment Sector


An open nomination for an industry figure who they believe has demonstrated excellence in achievements that have been paramount to development of the data centre, cloud and/or edge sector. The panel of Judges will shortlist the nominee.


  • Sami Badri
    Senior Equity Analyst
    Credit Suisse
  • Mark Dennison
    Infrastructure Finance Partner
    Eversheds Sutherland (International) LLP
  • Kemal Hawa
    Partner & Shareholder
    Greenberg Traurig, LLP
  • Andrew Jay
    Executive Director
    CBRE Limited
  • Carlos Katsuya
    Chief Investment Officer
  • Jeffrey Krogh
    Managing Director
    BNP Paribas
  • Miles Loo
    Executive Vice President
    Newmark Knight Frank
  • Edmund Tan
    Executive Director
    Credit Agricole CIB
  • Michael Tobin OBE
    Tobin OBE
    Managing Director
    Tobin Ventures
  • Steve Wallage
    Managing Director
    BroadGroup Consulting
  • Robert Wallin
    Managing Director, Telecom Industry Group
    Natixis Corporate and Investment Banking
  • Thoo Wee-Meng
    Head of Investments, TMT Sector
    Leonie Hill Capital